Punch Drunk Wonderland

2014 NFL Honors Winners

peytonmanning2012The night before Super Bowl XLVIII means we’ll be learning who will be among the winners of the 2014 NFL Honors. Most of these weren’t surprises. It’s nice to see that “Riverboat” Ron Rivera managed to go from hot seat to AP Coach of the Year. That says a lot for aggressive play calling, and I hope it means we’re going to see more in years to come. ALWAYS GO FOR IT ON 4TH-AND-1 (2)!!!

AP Most Valuable Player:  Peyton Manning (QB, Denver Broncos)

AP Offensive Player of the Year:  Peyton Manning (QB, Denver Broncos)

Defensive Player of the Year:  Luke Kuechly (LB, Carolina Panthers)

AP Offensive Rookie of the Year:  Eddie Lacy (RB, Green Bay Packers)

AP Defensive Rookie of the Year:  Sheldon Richardson (DE, New York Jets)

Salute to Service Award:  John Harbaugh (Head Coach, Baltimore Ravens)

Fantasy Player of the Year:  Jamaal Charles (RB, Kansas City Chiefs)

Greatness on the Road:  Nick Foles (QB, Philadelphia Eagles)

AP Comeback Player of the Year:  Philip Rivers (QB, San Diego Chargers)

AP Coach of the Year:  Ron Rivera (Carolina Panthers)

Pepsi Next Rookie of the Year:  Keenan Allen (WR, San Diego Chargers)

GMC Never Say Never Moment of the Year:  Aaron Rodgers (QB, Green Bay Packers)

Deacon Jones Player of the Year:  Robert Mathis (LB, Indianapolis Colts)

Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year:  Charles Tillman (CB, Chicago Bears)

Bridgestone Performance Play of the Year:  Calvin Johnson (WR, Detroit Lions)

FedEx Air Player of the Year:  Peyton Manning (QB, Denver Broncos)

FedEx Ground Player of the Year:  LeSean McCoy (RB, Philadephia Eagles)


K. Smelser About K. Smelser
Kelly Smelser is Owner/Senior Writer for Punch Drunk Wonderland and PDFantasy Sports. Architect of the PDW fantasy football world and general spinster of NFL and Fantasy Football news and analysis. Long walks on the beach, sunsets, and other such niceties are also fine...